Daily Prompt: Great Expectations

This is quite a sidetrack from the original prompt but it’s still got to do with my (ever-changing) expectations of myself for this life.

I used to believe
I could do just anything –
My goals, objectives and dreams
Everyone’d see what I see

But as I grew older
Made rueful and realistic by reality
Dashed hopes, wishes and expectations
When those I trust failed me

Then I was still, unwavering
So the truth of life came to light
Nothing can we expect, except
An unfolding of what will be

I hold not the reins to my life
But life in its spontaneous glory.

7 Comments

Filed under emotions, feelings, nature, poetry, trust

7 responses to “Daily Prompt: Great Expectations

  1. Pingback: Daily prompt – Great Expectations | The Wandering Poet

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Great Expectations of a Golden Oldie | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: The Line, Tight or Slack | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Great Expectations | Rain's Writing Realm

  5. Pingback: I’ve Started So I’ll Finish! A New Way of Writing a Book | lynnesartandsoul

  6. Pingback: You’re Beautiful,…. | Mayur Wadhwani's Blog

  7. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Great Expectations | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

