Daily Prompt: If You Leave

Just a few years ago
I decided I had enough
Of selling my soul
In a compromising job

My true passion was calling
I could no longer wait
Restlessness got more restless
Being cornered made me irate

So meticulously I planned
The major career breakup
Then picked out a beautiful day
To send the letter up

I was counting down the days
And saying my last goodbyes
Nobody really thought I’d leave
Till it hit between the eyes

So here I am standing
One year after the break
Doing the things I love
With some sacrifices I’d made

But I’m glad I took flight
Before it got too late
Find myself in the world outside
Life is too short to wait.

12 Comments

Filed under feelings, poetry

12 responses to “Daily Prompt: If You Leave

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: If You Leave | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: If You Leave | Enchanted Seashells…Confessions of a Tugboat Captain's Wife

  3. Pingback: Just Like Everyday | Views Splash!

  4. Pingback: If you leave… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  5. Pingback: Debt and Mattresses (Daily Prompt) | Thinking Diagonally

  6. Pingback: Debt and Mattresses (Daily Prompt) | Thinking Diagonally

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: If You Leave | Writing Canvas

  8. Pingback: I think I left love | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: If You Leave | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  10. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Goodbye, My Dear!” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  11. Pingback: If You Leave [VIGNETTE] | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

