Daily Prompt: Roy G. Biv

The back of my hand brushed against my still-closed eyelids and I could feel them flicker and open. Pale, flimsy curtains framed the indigo-velvet sky; the last reluctant stars  lingered petulantly.

I took in a deep breath of the crisp blue air, then stretched out my arms only to be met by empty sheets, still warm from her presence. My senses awoke. Where’d she gone?

I sat up, feeling the breeze pass by my shoulder-blades, then stood up. I picked up my shirt from the chest-of-drawers and put it on, then stole out in the peaceful stillness of the unawakened morning. Feet bare and unsandaled, the rough wooden flooring felt comforting  as I wandered out quietly towards the seaside.

I thought I saw her in the distance, standing still in her billowy white sundress, her head tilted towards the lightening skies, now a plush violet. And I stood very still, and waited.

Soon, the skies faded to deep orange, as the red sun rose from its rest. Where it touched, everything seemed to be revived and dipped into full colours, and soon the lush green trees came into view against the golden-yellow backdrop.

And there she was, there and right beside me.

Beauty in all of nature’s hues.

11 Comments

Filed under emotions, excerpt, nature, writing

11 responses to “Daily Prompt: Roy G. Biv

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Roy G. Biv | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. This makes me want to go to the beach. Nice.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Roy G. Biv | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  4. Pingback: Nothing Left To Do But Die | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Roy G. Biv | GG's World

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Raft (RoyG.Biv) | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  7. Pingback: Color me poetic | JED's Playhouse

  8. You had me at the first line. Great post.

    Like

  9. Pingback: Roses are Red – Baby when you come | Naveen writes

Leave a Reply

