Comfort in this World

I woke today with the ache on the gum of my wisdom tooth from yesterday. Being a bit of a worrywart, I looked to my husband for some reassurance and got instead, a recount of how pus-filled gums rendered the extraction of his tooth.

Fat lot of good that did.

It all provided bouts of out-of-sorts feelings for the whole day, until I returned home to visit my family. When I got the chance, I confided to Grandma about my swollen achy gums, as I always do whenever I feel sad, worried or frustrated about something. Knowingly, like an experienced doctor, she replied that it is because my body is ‘heaty’, hence the surfacing of a kee pau (loosely translated to “tooth bag”). Her remedy is to rub salt or watermelon frost on the affected areas.

Hanging on to her words for dear life, I had to confirm her diagnosis further. I began to describe in greater detail the exact location of the pain and how it affects the whole mouth organ. Reassuringly, she repeated her kee pau verdict and recommended chrysanthemum tea,  made by steeping such dried blooms in hot water, to dispel the heat from my body. She then took out her own box of dried chrysanthemums and offered to give me some. Feeling safe and comforted once again, I told her I have them and that I would do as she said.

Of course, to quell my last bit of uneasiness, I had to ask her how long it would take for the swelling to go down.

Her simple answer is that it would gradually become better, without me even noticing it.

A little piece of advice for gum aches and life.

2 Comments

Filed under emotions, family, feelings, love, trust

2 responses to “Comfort in this World

  1. This post makes me miss my Grandmas, they were both full of good advice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

