Daily Prompt: Release Me

Hm. How about ALL the posts I was nervous to publish?

I have been writing for many years; first they were pensive poems I thought up on long bus rides to and from university, which then evolved to include professional jobs I did for clients as a freelance copywriter. While the copywriting work gets showcased on another portfolio blog, I was very hesitant to put my personal writings out for public viewing because (i) I didn’t think they were good enough, (ii) I thought they were too personal to be out for show, and (iii) I was not ready to be shot down by critics (see “The point is…” section).

As I grew older and more mature (I hope), I realised that the only way to improve more and challenge myself further is to be in touch with other writers; to accept criticisms and compliments alike graciously and to attempt other genres I have never tried writing before.

So I selected those of my personal pieces that I thought would be a good fit here and uploaded them all (if you checked you’d notice I’ve backdated my entries, all the way back to 1997 😀 ).

Still keeping my fingers crossed that readers would go easy on this narcissistic scribbler.

17 Comments

Filed under poetry, writing

17 responses to “Daily Prompt: Release Me

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Release Me | A Mixed Bag

  2. Pingback: Sex or Lance-a-Lot?! | alienorajt

  3. Pingback: Thank you everyone for the love and support | Processing the life

  4. alienorajt

    Good for you! Well done! Honesty in writing is best, in my opinion! Alienora

    Like

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Release Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: The sound of release | Mirrorgirl

  7. Pingback: The Cathartic Power of Writing and Blogging | Rob's Surf Report

  8. Pingback: When To Safely Hit “Publish” And When To Hold Back! | The Political and Social Chaos Blog

  9. Pingback: Bringing A Long Held Goal to Light | mycookinglifebypatty

  10. Pingback: “I say release me…” | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Release Me (Shyness) | DeafGuy Blog

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Release Me | Wordz on a Page

  13. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Release Me | My Atheist Blog

  14. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Release Me ROLLING IN THE DEEP 1-4 | Phoenix Flights

  15. Pingback: YOUR KIND OF LOVE ENDED TRUST FOR ME | hastywords

  16. Pingback: Irish skies | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

