To My Slate Maker

He wasn’t like any of the boys I’d been with at all.

I first noticed him, commuting to school every clockwork morning. We were what you’d call familiar faces in the crowd and those striking features struck.

Then one day after a long hiatus, I saw him again. This time we made progress with phone numbers and small talk. He was steady, calm and unhurried (damn, that killer smile again!) and I’d like to think I was too.

Of course we called each other up, you know, the usual boy-meets-girl girl-meets-boy suss-each-other-out calls. After a few more of those and a couple of dates, I was back in the game! I was likely the girlfriend from hell, but unlike those other boys who gave in to me, he didn’t.

And unlike those other relationships, we lasted.

So this post goes out to the (old) boy who changed my perspectives and made me a better person, on his very special day.

You made me a clean slate
And wrote with your steady hand
A brand new story – simple and true
One that I’ve never read.

将这石板焕新
再用你平稳的手法
写出真诚、未曾体验
我的新叙述。

Leave a comment

Filed under family, love, poetry, writing

Leave a Reply

