Daily Prompt: The Goodbye I Never Said

Dear ex-colleagues,

It has been almost seven months since I left you guys and the teaching fraternity. The leap of faith after a few years’ careful contemplation, as some of you would know. Yet in a sense, I have never stopped teaching; on the contrary, I feel I am helping some kids more as a home tutor now.

I remember when I was a new teacher, grudgingly in it to ‘take a break’ from corporate life as recommended by the family. I was uncomfortable and awkward, but little did I know I was gradually being changed by the kids I taught. Yet just as I was beginning to enjoy teaching, they come and corporatize it with more roles and administrative responsibilities. How ironic to pluck something away just as one’s beginning to grow fond of it.

My choice to leave is a right one – the time I have on hand now is used in a manner that is more fulfilling and meaningful to me – to better myself in areas of interest, to immerse in my writing passions and to live life to the fullest, by my own standards.

There comes a time when 
Time is worth more than money –
Even if just to throw a starfish
Back into the sea.

12 Comments

Filed under feelings, writing

12 responses to “Daily Prompt: The Goodbye I Never Said

  1. Pingback: Community #photography #poetry | Moondustwriter's Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Community Service | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Community Service | My Atheist Blog

  4. Pingback: And you thought you knew me… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  5. Pingback: Community: What is your defining moment? | jennifermarshcurtis

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Community Service | The Story of a Guy

  7. Pingback: Travelling the beautiful city of Haridwar : From dawn to dusk | Processing the life

  8. Pingback: Mr. Fusion and the Excruciatingly Slow Decline of the Western Pattern Diet | Rob's Surf Report

  9. Pingback: Stop. Look. Listen…In Song Titles | Cheri Speak

  10. There comes a time where time is worth more than money, even if it’s just to throw back a starfish back into the sea… I found these lines very powerful! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  11. Pingback: Time – is it worth more than money? | For His Glory

Leave a Reply

