Daily Prompt: Blogger in a Strange Land

It is a working habit as a freelance writer to create stuff anywhere, anytime, because inspiration sometimes hits at the most unlikely times in the most unlikely places.

Right now as I type, I’m half-lying on the vintage sofa at my mum’s. Grandma’s having her regular weekend dose of Taiwanese weepy drama while Mum is busy in the room. The man, watching his favourite just-for-laughs prank clips on his tablet phone, lets out occasional chuckles and here I am, wielding my very efficient iphone lengthwise, all the better to type out today’s prompt as typo-free as possible.

Just yesterday, I joined the other commuters on the tube in fixating our eyes on each of our little portable blinking handhelds, only instead of tabloids, games and chats I was engrossed with creating a new piece of writing. The most efficient piece of work I did was thinking up a set of product taglines and texting them to my agency while waiting for a late-night bus on a road trip.

Yet the most memorable of all has to be when I am already on the edge of free-falling into dreamland, then being suddenly bungee-jolted back into alert consciousness by sudden inspirations that demand to be immortalised in black and white.

Now that I’m done, I shall go get some grub then join my family in the rest of the evening while I await yet another beckoning from inside my head…

9 Comments

Filed under writing

9 responses to “Daily Prompt: Blogger in a Strange Land

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Blogger in a Strange Land | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Blogger in Country Town | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  3. I know exactly what you’re talking about and I guess that is definitely a PLACE.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Blogging away from home | A mom's blog

  5. I have written many posts on the subways of New York. I wish I had a quarter for every time I pressed post after climbing the stairs up to the street. Happy Blogging

    Like

  6. I have written many posts on the subways of New York. I wish I had a quarter for every time I pressed post after climbing the stairs up to the street. Happy Blogging.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Blogger in a Strange Land | My Atheist Blog

Leave a Reply

