Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough When I’m With You

Ahh addictions. Sly little devils that tempt and seduce one to sink in more and more, that is sometimes so bad yet feels so good.

Have always been and still am, to coffee, dark chocolate, words and writing. My addiction to the latter, an old song and the late night (actually early morning) downpour got this out of me.

Awl and Scribe

I watched the faint smile on her lips, her breath heaving and lowering her body gently as she slept beside me. Warmth radiated from her waist to where my arm encircled it and I could smell the faint sweetness in her hair.

It was just another usual night tonight, with her and our two beautiful kids –  coming home from work, reading a bit of current affairs, her getting dinner while I got the monkeys. Dinner, homework check, tucking in and bedtime stories, then a couple glasses of red.

On the way to visit a client this afternoon, the classics station was crooning some good old love songs when a particularly familiar one began to play.

I remember that one. It was our song.

It must have been more than ten years ago. Still a restless buck on a wager with a couple of friends, who didn’t think I…

View original post 917 more words

9 Comments

Filed under chocolate, coffee, emotions, feelings, love, writing

9 responses to “Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough When I’m With You

  1. Pingback: Addicted to ‘love’ | alienorajt

  2. Pingback: Can’t Get Enough | Motherhood and Beyond

  3. Pingback: Addiction… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Things I can’t get enough of… | Processing the life

  6. Pingback: Addiction? I Have No Addiction! | Stuphblog

  7. Pingback: More! | The Silver Leaf Journal

  8. Pingback: Dollars, Dirhams & Pounds | A mom's blog

  9. Pingback: Surfer Rob’s outlook on addiction | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

