Daily Prompt: Exhale

Late one night I felt suddenly out of sorts and restless; sleep evaded me. The prose born that night is perfect for the prompt today:

 

Here I sit, chin to my knees
Wriggle my toes a bit to feel the breeze
And I imagine
You sitting by me

Lean back, peek at the little blue stars
A thousand thoughts from where you are
And I imagine
You counting them from far

The beasts in my head go running wild
What a way to end the day
And I imagine
You chasing them away

Well now they’re all gone
At least for the night
And I imagine
You saying everything’s all right

Perhaps you’re right.

13 Comments

Filed under emotions, feelings, poetry

13 responses to “Daily Prompt: Exhale

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Exhale | The Story of a Guy

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Exhale | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Exhale | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Inhale and Exhale | My Atheist Blog

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Exhale | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Exhale | Ruminations from an Introvert

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Exhale | life n me!

  8. Pingback: All’s well that ends well | A mom's blog

  9. Pingback: Breathe… Exhale | Edward Hotspur

  10. Pingback: could you | Musings of a Random Mind

  11. Pingback: The Gremmie’s Lament | Rob's Surf Report

  12. Pingback: “Yes… I DO” | hastywords

  13. Pingback: Murphy’s law | Thriving Pessimist…

Leave a Reply

